Certified Cosmetology Course – English
January 13, 2022
Barbering Course

Barbering English

Enrolment Starts 2/1/22

On-Site Classroom
Learning Schedule

From 2/1/22 to 6/2/22

language2 pdf icon

PDF Schedule

Download A PDF Version
Of the Classroom Schedule

Download 8,4kb
Classes available Mondays 9:30AM- 4:30PM or 4:30PM - 9:30PM

Rick Gilmore

Barber Educator


Enrollment Requirements

Student Requirements

  • Students must be at least 16 years of age.
  • To qualify for the State Board Exam, you must have completed at least 10th grade or its equivalency, and possess a Social Security Number.
  • A copy of a valid driver’s license or state ID and a copy of your Social Security card are required.
  • Pay for the 39-Hour Training Certificate.

Salon & Barbershop Requirements

  • The salon must have a valid Establishment License and No current fines for Trainer or Salon
  • Submit to CBCALCI a copy of their Workers Compensation Insurance Certificate
  • Pay each student at least minimum wage per hour.
  • Submit a Pay Stub after the 2nd week of employment

About the course

This two-year program can be completed in 21 months (for those who choose to). Students attend related instruction class once a week (6 hours in class training and 32 to 42 ½ hours on-the-job training in the salon of their choice.

When starting the program, we assist the students in obtaining, their license (usually 3 months). Students are working in a salon with their cosmetology license.
Our classroom sizes range from 25 to 35 students using two teachers. Some students that have completed the cosmetology program return as instructors, with the desire to help teach the next generation of stylists and give back to our industry.


*Promotional Price not available at all locations

First Phase

Each student will complete the 39-Hour Pre-Apprentice training prior to becoming an Apprentice and prior to applying for a License by complying with the following:
  • Complete a 5 Chapter Entrance Quiz
  • Attend 6 Hour Classes
  • Complete the Safety, Sanitization Rules, and Regulations assignments with a 70%(C grade) or better

Second Phase

  • Submit your application packet for processing once you’ve selected a salon.
  • Attend your class one day a week for 6 hours a day at your designated training location for 2 years, 288 hours each year are needed.
  • Have Satisfactory Academic Progress by passing all subjects with 70%, (C) or better grade. Students who cannot maintain SAP will not be able to complete the program until their grades improve (Consult with your instructor for make up test to improve grades.)
  • Complete 32 - 42.5 hours per week in a Salon or Barbershop with your Trainer present. Submit your signed On-The-Job Training records to the school monthly (3,200 Salon Training Hours is needed to complete the program within 21-24 months.)
Certified Barbering Course – English

State of California Employment Development Department

Certified Barbering Course – English

State of California CalWorks

Certified Barbering Course – English

State of California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

Certified Barbering Course – English

State of California Department of Veterans Affairs

Certified Barbering Course – English

State of California Department of Rehabiliation

Certified Barbering Course – English

Sacramento Employment and Training Agency

Certified Barbering Course – English

The Black Owned Beauty Supply Association

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using this website you agree to our Data Protection Policy.
Read more